Exhibition Information

Artist: May Ta

Exhibition: Closer

Media: Mixed Media, Painting, Acrylic

Gallery: Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Website: N/A

Instagram: @maypta

About the Artist

For week four, I met May Ta who is an extraordinary artist. She is a senior at Cal State Long Beach that came as a transferred student for Cal State Fullerton. She decided to change schools because CSULB has a strong art program where she is excited in getting her Bachelors in the School of Art’s Illustration Program. May was born in Vietnam and she mentioned that her family members have careers with Science so she decided to get a degree in Engineering. Unfortunately, her family did not support her as she changed her major to art but she felt like she found something more and meaningful when she switched her major and that was all that mattered.

Formal Analysis

When you walk into the gallery, you see many pictures and props that catches attention to anyone who walks in. ┬áSome of the art that she includes is the “Estranger”,” U and The Morning After”, “Shadows”, “The Windows”, “Him and His”,and “Room Within.” In some of her paintings she used paint and ink and with the help of her friend, Carly Lake. They created a gallery that looked like a house or a room with windows, shadows, and a door. May Ta stated that her goal was to show loneliness because it was how she was feeling when she came from Vietnam.

Content Analysis

May Ta mentioned that she wanted the people to go “through a story” when they walk into the gallery. The story starts off with a painting called, “Estranger” which shows the beginning of a journey with the man who is standing in a lake by himself. Then, while walking around you can see a bed covered with letters on one side and on the other is a chair with a desk in front of the beginning of a painting. May tried to convey the theme of loneliness.

My Experience

When I first walked into the gallery, I was really impressed and I felt a connection right away. I really liked how she portrayed her art as loneliness because I know a lot of college students can relate to this project including myself. Last year I had a rough year where I felt lonely and discouraged as well so May Ta’s and Carly Lake’s art really connected with me and made me feel like there are others who felt or are feeling the same way I once did.

 

 

